These five tarot cards are the best representation of Virgo terms of personality, love, family, friendship, and career. Keep reading to find out what they are.

virgo tarot

Virgo Tarot Cards

Using tarot cards is a fantastic way to gain a better understanding of something or someone. Some like to use tarot cards to represent the different areas in each of the zodiac sign’s lives when it comes to astrology matters.

Right now, the sign in the spotlight is going to be Virgo, the virgin.

There are particular tarot cards that you can use to represent the different areas of Virgo’s life. To find out what those cards are and what they mean, continue reading.

1. Personality: The Hermit

personality card

The Hermit is the ruling tarot card for the zodiac sign Virgo. The Hermit represents Virgo’s possession of inner wisdom. It also expresses Virgo’s constant search for more due to their curiosity.

The Hermit also represents Virgo’s deep introspection. They like to understand their mental and emotional processes to continue to work on and improve themselves. Virgo also uses reflection quite often and likes to think things through very thoroughly to make the right moves in their lives.

When Virgo’s thoughts get all jumbled, they tend to become quite anxious. When they feel insecure or uncertain, it could cause them to begin unhealthy behaviors such as restricting themselves from doing things to avoid complications.

The Hermit also indicates Virgo may begin to isolate themselves as well in hopes of keeping themselves safe from harm’s way or the unknown.

Keywords used to describe the Hermit card and the personality of Virgo:


  • Wisdom
  • Introspection
  • Reflection


  • Anxious
  • Restrictive
  • Isolation

2. Love: Nine of Pentacles

love tarot

The Nine of Pentacles represents Virgo’s vital need for independence, even in their love relationships. Also, while Virgo can support themselves, they like to feel secure in their relationships. That could mean either emotional or material security.

The Nine of Pentacles shows that Virgo expresses gratitude towards their partner when all their needs are met. They make sure to show their love and appreciation to their partner and let them know how thankful they are to have them in their life.

The Nine of Pentacles warns that Virgo should take care not to become dependent on their partner. They should also keep themselves in check to make sure they aren’t superficial in love. Otherwise, it could easily lead to them feeling unfulfilled in their love life and ultimately ending in loneliness.

Keywords used to describe the Nine of Pentacles and what Virgo needs in their love life:


  • Independence
  • Security
  • Gratitude


  • Dependent
  • Superficial
  • Loneliness

3. Family: Ten of Pentacles

Ten of Pentacles card

The Ten of Pentacles represents the legacy Virgo tends to carry on for their family. They often are the ones who pick up what their elders left for them and their families and take care of business. Virgos are usually the ones trusted to inherit the things that have been in their family for generations.

The Ten of Pentacles also indicates that Virgo has a traditional side as well. They are usually the ones who keep alive and carry on old family traditions. They have respect and pride from where they come from.

On the negative side, the Ten of Pentacles represents the high standards Virgo’s family tends to hold them to. There may seem to be absolutely no room for failure.

Family members of Virgo may be more likely to let Virgo fall into debt because they expect them to be able to take care of everything themselves. They are expected to struggle alone.

Keywords that describe the Ten of Pentacles and Virgo’s family life:


  • Legacy
  • Inheritance
  • Tradition


  • Failure
  • Debt
  • Loss

4. Friendship: Queen of Swords

Queen of Swords

The Queen of Swords represents the honesty Virgo keeps within their friendships. They like to speak the truth and let their friends know what they need to hear to help better themselves.

The Queen of Swords also shows that Virgo is very empathetic. They hate to see their friends upset. So much, they are pretty protective of their friends. Virgo can feel what they feel and will do anything to keep their friends in harm’s way.

The Queen of Swords indicates that Virgo can tend to be a bit too critical of their friends sometimes, however. If they don’t hold themselves back a little bit when giving heavy advice or critiques, they may come across as cold and cruel.

The Queen of Swords also warns Virgo not to be too picky with their friends. They may begin to come across as pessimistic and make their friends not want to be around them as often.

Keywords used to describe the Queen of Swords and what type of friend Virgo is:


  • Empathetic
  • Honest
  • Protective


  • Critical
  • Cruel
  • Pessimistic

5. Career: Eight of Pentacles

Eight of Pentacles

The Eight of Pentacles represents Virgo’s passion when it comes to their work and career. They strive to achieve mastery in their craft. They do so by completing all the training necessary for their job and then some.

The Eight of Pentacles says that you can expect to see great results when Virgo is hard at work.

Virgo should be careful not to let their career completely take over their life and become a workaholic, warns the Eight of Pentacles. They should also make sure that their job is doing something they love.

Otherwise, they may feel uninspired or bored with their work life, making it hard to have something to progress.

Keywords that describe the Eight of Pentacles and the work and career life of Virgo:


  • Passion
  • Mastery
  • Results


  • Workaholic
  • Uninspired
  • Boredom

Virgo and Tarot Cards

When it comes to tarot cards that you can use to represent the life of Virgo, many of the cards from the suit of pentacles fit the description quite well.

The four tarot card suits represent the four elements:

  • Wands – Fire
  • Cups – Water
  • Swords – Air
  • Pentacles (coins) – Earth

Virgo is an earth sign, alongside the signs Taurus and Capricorn. So, it’s understandable that the pentacles suit would have cards that represent them the best.

Here are some keywords associated with Virgo, the suit of pentacles, and the earth element:

  • Stability
  • Passion
  • Reliability
  • Security
  • Practical
  • Structure
  • Abundance
  • Grounded


You can use specific tarot cards to shed light on different areas of Virgo’s life.

The Hermit represents the inner wisdom and introspection they naturally have. The Nine of Pentacles expresses Virgo’s need for independence and security in their loving relationships.

The Ten of Pentacles depicts Virgo as the family legacy carrier. Their family members see them as responsible enough to carry out that particular task. The Queen of Swords shows that Virgo can be trusted by their friends to provide them with the truth and honesty.

Lastly, the Eight of Pentacles represents the true passion Virgo has for their work. That’s what drives them to strive to succeed in their career.

Every one of those cards represents one part of Virgo’s life. They help describe the wisdom found within this independent earth sign.

Tarot Cards of Zodiac

Aries / Taurus / Gemini / Cancer / Leo / Virgo / Libra / Scorpio / Sagittarius / Capricorn / Aquarius / Pisces

Virgo Articles

All Virgo Articles / Best Friends / Flowers / Birthstones / Career Guide / Cats / Colors / Dogs / Flirting / Gift Guide / Lucky Numbers / Signs They Like You / Spirit Animals / Worst Matches